Event Partners

Beppe Croce Trophy

World Sailing's prestigious award, the Beppe Croce Trophy, is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding voluntary contribution to the sport of sailing.

In memory of Beppe Croce, the World Sailing President from 1969-1986, the Federazione Italiana Vela presented the Trophy to the World Sailing and it was awarded for the first time in 1988.

The roll of honour is an impressive one, including multiple Olympic medallists, rules gurus and designers, and all have dedicated an outstanding amount of time to the sport of sailing. Recipients are presented with a replica trophy.

From 2004 to 2008 S.Pellegrino joined World Sailing as the Official Supplier of mineral water and supporter of the Beppe Croce Trophy and the trophy was presented at a prestigious dinner during the Mid-Year Meeting. Since, the Beppe Croce Trophy has been presented at World Sailing's Annual Conference

Click on the name of the recipient to read the press release accompanying the presentation.

2018 Bryan Willis (GBR) 2017 Carlos Croce (ITA)
2016 No ALT tag specified George Andreadis (GRE) 2014 No ALT tag specified David Kellett (AUS)
2013 No ALT tag specified Göran Petersson (SWE) 2011 James "Ding" Schoonmaker James "Ding" Schoonmaker (USA)
2010 His Majesty King Constantine His Majesty King Constantine 2009 Bill Bentsen Bill Bentsen (USA)
2008 Nucci Novi Ceppellini Nucci Novi Ceppellini (ITA) 2007 Jacques Rogge Jacques Rogge (BEL)
2006 Ken Ryan Ken Ryan (IRL) 2005 Paul Henderson Paul Henderson (CAN)
2003 John Tinker John Tinker (CAN) 2002 Jan Linge Jan Linge (NOR)
2001 Peter Siemsen Peter Siemsen (BRA) 2000 Livius Sherwood Livius Sherwood (CAN)
1999 Mary Pera Mary Pera (GBR) 1998 Peter Tallberg Peter Tallberg (FIN)
1997 Carlos Rolandi Carlo Rolandi (ITA) 1996 Harry H. Anderson Jr Harry H. Anderson, Jr (USA)
1995 Otto Schlenzka Otto Schlenzka (GER) 1994 Jonathan Janson Jonathan Janson (GBR)
1993 Paul J. Phelan Paul J. Phelan (CAN) 1992 Lin Stephens Olin Stephens II (USA)
1991 His Majesty King Juan Carlos of Spain His Majesty King Juan Carlos of Spain 1990 Paul Elvstrom Paul Elvström (DEN)
1989 F. Gregg Bemis F. Gregg Bemis (USA)
Gerald Sambrooke-Sturgess OBE (GBR)
1988 His Majesty King Olav of Norway His Majesty King Olav of Norway
© 2022 All Rights Reserved by Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM