An Official
Website of
World Sailing
Paralympic Games
7 Sept - 18 Sept 2016
The Official Paralympic Sailing Competition Website
Rio 2016

The History of Paralympic Sailing

Sailing was first seen at the Paralympic Games in 1996 as a demonstration sport. Four years later it was included as an official Paralympic Sport with two events on display at Sydney 2000. A one-person and three-person keelboat event were chosen to demonstrate the sport in Australia which provided greater stability as well as open cockpits allowing more room for the sailors.

The events were open to male and female competitors with the host nations Noel Robins, Jamie Dunross and Graeme Martin (AUS) taking the first Sonar gold and Heiko Kroger (GER) claimed the first 2.4mR gold medal.

The 2.4mR and Sonar remained through Athens 2004 before the introduction of a two-person keelboat for Beijing 2008. The SKUD18 was the chosen equipment and the first gold medal went to America's Nick Scandone and Maureen McKinnon-Tucker.

All three events and equipment will be on show in Weymouth and host nation Great Britain are yet to claim a Paralympic Sailing medal.

Medal Tally
© 2022 All Rights Reserved by Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM