An Official
Website of
World Sailing
Paralympic Games
7 Sept - 18 Sept 2016
The Official Paralympic Sailing Competition Website
Rio 2016

Beijing 2008

Beijing 2008

Opening Date

06 Sept 2008

Closing Date

17 Sept 2008

Country of the host city


Candidate cities

Istanbul (TUR), Osaka (JPN), Paris (FRA) and Toronto (CAN)


Eighty athletes from 25 nations contested the three keelboat classes at the 2008 Paralympic Sailing Competition in Qingdao, China from 8-13 September 2008.

The SKUD18 made its Paralympic debut as the two-person keelboat event with Nick Scandone and Maureen McKinnon-Tucker (USA) taking the first Paralympic gold in the event. Canada's Paul Tingley won gold in the 2.4mR, eight years on from winning a bronze in the Sonar as crew with David Williams and Brian Macdonald.

Following a tense final race in the Sonar with France, Israel, Germany, Australia and Norway all in contention for the top honours it went the way of Jens Kroker, Robert Prem and Siegmund Mainka (GER) whose fifth place finish was enough to clinch gold.

ISAF Paralympic News
Paralympics - Regatta page - History - 2008
Regatta Details
Start Date8 September 2008
End Date13 September 2008
CountryChina, PR
Entry NamePhil Vardy/Ian Harrison
Entry Address
Fax -
Registration Lists n/a
Latest News
Fleet racing Disabled Men 2.4 Metre Overall Results
Race Results
Fleet racing Disabled Men SKUD 18 Overall Results
Race Results
Fleet racing Disabled Men Sonar Overall Results
Race Results
2008 Beijing Paralympic Games Sailing Competition 08 Sep 2008 - 13 Sep 2008
2.4 Metre (Disabled Men) Fleet racing
Position Nation Sail Number Net Points Total Points Crew
1CANn/a21.0039.00Paul Tingley
2FRAn/a25.0053.00Damien Seguin
3USAn/a28.0047.00John Ruf
4GERn/a28.0050.00Heiko Kroeger
5NEDn/a32.0054.00Thierry SCHMITTER
6DENn/a39.0057.00Jens Als Andersen
7GBRn/a41.0063.00Helena Lucas
8NORn/a64.0093.00Bjørnar Erikstad
9PURn/a65.0097.00Julio Papote Reguero
10ITAn/a70.00102.00Fabrizio Olmi
11CHNn/a72.00102.00Mingxue QI
12AUSn/a73.0098.00Aaron Hill
13GREn/a79.00108.00George Delikouras
14HUNn/a93.00123.00Zoltan Pegan
15ESPn/a98.00130.00Emilio Fernandez Lastra
16FINn/a114.00146.00Jussi Mattila
Medal Tally


John Ruf of the USA
2008 Paralympic Medal Ceremonies
Ken KELLY, Marc SHAW and Don TERLSON of Canada
2008 Paralympics - 8-11 September - Sonar races
The SKUD18 fleet at the start
8-11 September - SKUD18 races
The 2.4 Metre fleet race in front of the Qingdao breakwater
2008 Paralympics - 8 & 9 September - 2.4 Metre races
The Launching Ceremony of the 2008 Paralympic Sailing Competition
Launching Ceremony
The SKUD18 racing
2008 IFDS Qingdao International Regatta

© 2022 All Rights Reserved by Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM