Event Partners

ISAF Team Racing World Championship - History

The ISAF Team Racing World Championship is held every two years. The winners are presented with the ISAF Team Racing World Trophy and the top three teams also receive gold, silver and bronze ISAF Championship medals.

Championship History

The first Team Racing Worlds was held in West Kirby, Great Britain in 1995. It was the home team of Great Britain who came out on top and were the first nation to lift the ISAF Team Racing World Trophy, donated to ISAF by the West Kirby Sailing Club. Ireland came in second with Australia completing the podium.

Three years later in 1998, the ISAF Worlds took place in Miami, USA with the home team taking victory and Britain this time finishing second, and the Australians again in third.

The following year in Dun Laoghaire, Ireland, New Zealand made it three different nations winning three World Championships, with the USA second and Britain again amongst the medals in third.

The next ISAF Worlds on Lake Brno in the Czech Republic in 2001, saw Kiwis take their second consecutive victory. Once again the USA took second and the British third.

Two years later in Auckland, New Zealand, the USA began their dominance of the ISAF Team Racing World title, winning for the second time. This time the British team came in second, with the Kiwi team, including several of the 2001 gold medallists, taking bronze on their home waters.

In 2005, the New York Yacht Club in Newport, Rhode Island, hosted the championship and America claimed the top honours once again. The US team of 2005, successfully defended their title, with the silver medal going to the second US team and Great Britain picking up the bronze.

In 2007 the USA triumphed again, but this time it was the team largely made up of the silver medallists from 2005 that dominated the seventh edition of the championship held in Gandia, Spain. Great Britain took the silver medal, with New Zealand claiming the bronze. The championship in 2005 also saw the introduction of a new Under 21 competition, won for the first time by Great Britain.

The next championship in 2009 was hosted by Perth, Australia with the USA continuing their winning streak and taking the gold medal. Australia claimed the silver medal with New Zealand taking the bronze.

Schull, Ireland hosted the 2011 Worlds and Great Britain returned to the top of the podium whilst the USA took both the silver and the bronze medals. In the Under-21 championship, Great Britain also topped the podium with Ireland and Spain winning silver and bronze.

© 2022 All Rights Reserved by Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM